April’s finish

Well I am just sneaking in here with my goal finish for April.

I feel a little bit guilty for posting this before it’s been gifted, but hey, I’m pretty sure my friend won’t read this before she gets the quilt!

This was the plan in my head (translated into Illustrator).

My plan in Illustrator

My plan in Illustrator

I knew my friend was having a boy so I wanted it to be quite a strong quilt, but still soft enough for a baby to enjoy. With that in mind I decided it would be a quilt made using Michael Miller Cotton Couture solids. This  is the first time I have used MMCC in a quilt and I have to say I am so pleased with how soft and cuddly this quilt is.

This is how the finished quilt looks….not bad right?

Plus quilt front

Plus quilt front

I used MMCC Soft White for the background, with Nite and Boy as the darker and lighter blue pluses.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do for a backing. I had considered piecing a giant plus from the leftover MMCC for the back, but the other week I was at one of the LQS here in Sydney and found this Cotton & Steel fabric…it screamed to me!

BQuilt-back

The perfect backing

As you can see I did a combination of machine and hand quilting. Stitching in the ditch in the vertical and horizontal seams, I then hand quilted some crosses in the plain white squares with Aurifil 12wt.

The binding is the MMCC Nite, and I decided to try out handquilting the binding (after machine stitching it to the back of the quilt first of course). I love the effect…not sure I could handle doing it on anything bigger than a baby quilt though…well, not if I’m in a rush to finish anyway!

Hand quilting the binding with Aurifil 12wt

Hand quilting the binding with Aurifil 12wt

Folded

Folded

It looks great in Peanut's room...

It looks great in Peanut’s room…

Details of the quilt:

Title: Baby A’s Positivity Quilt

Size: 45″ x 52″

Pattern: My own pattern, but basically a Plus quilt

Fabric: MMCC Soft White, Nite and Boy

Quilting: Stitch in the ditch plus hand quilted crosses using Aurifil 12wt, colour 2024

Binding: MMCC Nite

Backing: Cotton & Steel, Homebody by Kimberley Kight

Favourite Part: The simplicity, the softness and the fact I tried something new with the binding.

 

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “April’s finish

Leave a Reply

