Aussie Modern Instabee 2014 Round Up

2014 saw me participate in my first ever online quilting bee. The Aussie Modern Instabee ran alongside the US-based Modern Instabee which was to focus on making blocks from Lindsay Conner’s book: Modern Bee. There was so much interest from Australian quilters to participate that our own Instabee groups formed.

This was a great introduction to quilting bees. I’ve made some lovely connections with other quilters through this bee, and learned so much as well. As we are now running toward the end of the bee, and as I have made all the blocks for other members in my Hive, I thought I would share with you the blocks I made throughout 2014.

There were 12 members in each hive. We ran it a little differently to other bees in that we didn’t make one person the “queen bee” for the month. We simply all chose our blocks and colour/fabric choices at the beginning of the bee, and each month each person was assigned a different member of the bee to make their chosen block for. It meant everyone received something each month, and that all of us would be putting our quilts together at the end of the bee.

March

First up was the Mosaic Tiles block for Jess

Mosaic Tiles

Mosaic Tiles

April

Then it was Come Together For Alexandra

Come Together

Come Together

May

Trellis Crossroads for Claire. This block tested my OCD perfectionistic tendencies!

Trellis Crossroads

Trellis Crossroads

June

Baseball Curves for Judy. This one probably ended up being the block I was most disappointed in. Curves challenge me!

Baseball Curves

Baseball Curves

July

Another Trellis Crossroads. This time for Danielle. I started out designing my own foundation paper piecing pattern for this one (because of the perfectionistic issue again!) though I didn’t use it for the final block. I must finish that off!

Trellis Crossroads

Trellis Crossroads

August

Ninja Star for Kristy

Ninja Star

Ninja Star

September

The second Come Together, this time for Tanya.

Come Together

Come Together

October

Stacked Windmills for Janine

Stacked Windmills

Stacked Windmills

November

Triple Star for Clare

Triple Star

Triple Star

December

Playing Cards for Danielle

Playing Cards

Playing Cards

January

Ziggy Star for Liz

Ziggy Star

Ziggy Star

And there you have it…11 blocks for 11 fabulous quilters! So glad I got to make a good variety of blocks from the book. Even when there were double ups the colour choices meant I really wasn’t making anything too similar.

The block I chose was Cordelia’s Garden. I wanted a low volume, scrappy/text background with rich jewel colours for the feature pieces. This was the sample I made up as a guide for everyone.

Cordelia's Garden

Cordelia’s Garden

I’m looking forward to putting all my blocks together when they all come in. Of course, I will write about it once it’s finished.

At the end of 2014 I thought I was done with being in bees. I figured I plenty to be getting on with in 2015 to keep me busy. Well, that was until I heard about the Bee Hive Quilting Bee! I couldn’t help myself, so I signed up and even volunteered to lead a group! So look at me, I’m a swarm leader!!

Bee Hive Swarm Natasha

Bee Hive Swarm Natasha

Check out our progress in Instagram using the hashtag #beehiveswarmNatasha

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Aussie Modern Instabee 2014 Round Up

Leave a Reply

