A Handmade Christmas – Part One

Hard to believe that Christmas has been and gone for another year! Days go by so fast…they are always full and there certainly aren’t many days where I have just been sitting around doing very little! Of course, the lead up to Christmas is always so busy. It was especially so this year with Peanut being more aware of what’s going on, and being of an age when Christmas can be so much fun to  both witness and be a part of.

With all of Peanut’s cousins being overseas it meant I had to be super-dooper organised with the gifts this year as I had to make sure they were ready in time to be posted and received in time for Christmas (and I’m pleased to say they were). Now that the gifts have been received I can now tell you a little more about them. You will have seen snippets in my WIP Wednesday posts recently, but I think it’s time for a little more detail, and first up is little Baby A’s outfit.

I had seen many versions of the Geranium Dress pattern from Made by Rae floating around the internet, and I knew it was a pattern I wanted to try out for Peanut at some time. The pattern is available in sizes from Newborn to children’s size 12 so I knew I didn’t have to rush into making one, and Peanut’s dress wardrobe has been extensive since she was born, so I thought I would wait to make one for her. Luckily my SIL had a little girl almost three months ago now so it was a perfect excuse to try out the pattern!

I tried hard to source fabric from amongst my stash, but alas I had to make a special trip to my local Spotlight (a Jo-Ann’s equivalent here in Australia) for the fabric. I actually came away with more than the fabric for the dress (as you do)…but at least I felt happy I would have choices!

The final selection were this birdy print from Cloud 9 and a perfectly matching pink dainty floral (Country Manor by Fabric Traditions). I decided to make the 6-9month size as that would correlate with the age of Baby A during next UK summer.

Two tone Geranium Dress Size 6-9months

Two tone Geranium Dress Size 6-9months

I decided to keep to the simple neckline, although next time I think I will try the little curve cut out. I love the flutter sleeves too. My only wish is that I had an overlocker to finish the sleeves a little better…but I think the zigzag stitch I used will be fine.

This outfit was the first time I have put snaps on anything as well. So I’m pleased they look alright. I also think snaps are better than buttons…well at least they are for me who has a wriggle-monster for a child. Quick and easy is much better than fiddling with buttons and button holes when dressing.

Back of dress...I love that I did snaps instead of buttons.

Back of dress…I love that I did snaps instead of buttons.

Once this was finished I felt it needed something a little more and within a few days I was on IG and I saw a friend had made this awesome hat for her little boy so I thought I would check out the pattern.

It turns out the pattern was a free pattern from Oliver + S. Another bonus was that it’s a reversible bucket hat, so I could make two hats in one!

Oliver + S reversible bucket hat

Oliver + S reversible bucket hat

Different looks depending on your mood :)

Different looks depending on your mood 🙂

I was surprised at how easy it was, and so pleased with the final product. What do you think?

I can’t wait to see my little niece in this outfit!

Follow on Bloglovin

 

4 thoughts on “A Handmade Christmas – Part One

  1. Pingback: A Handmade Christmas – Part Two | onethousandlayers

  2. Pingback: A Handmade Christmas – Part Three | onethousandlayers

Leave a Reply

