Circus Circus!

I’m just sneaking in to the end of Q3 with another FAL 2014 finish!

This quilt has been finished for a little while, but we were waiting on our little nephew to make an appearance before I wrote about it. Yep, another baby quilt, although once again I have made it much larger than your traditional cot size quilt.

This quilt was made from a kit I bought from my LQS when I was pregnant with Peanut. At the time it felt like just the right thing to buy in anticipation of our little one’s arrival, but after she arrived it just didn’t seem to fit anymore. So, on the PHD pile it went!

When my sister in law told us she was having another boy, I knew this quilt was just right for the little man that was going to arrive. And two weeks ago baby S arrived, and the quilt was already finished! I’ve sent pictures to my SIL, so it’s now safe to share it here. We just have to wait until we get back to the UK to actually gift it…..or I may risk Australia Post…not sure!

Show some pictures already I hear you say!

The full quilt

The full quilt

My little girl loves this quilt and tried to help me shoot it…sort of!

Peanut wanted to help??

Peanut wanted to help??

Helping again?

Helping again?

The fabrics used in the kit were all Kokka fabrics but I’m unsure of the name of the prints. The fussy cut squares were all from one print though and had such cute images on them. The white fabric is actually a linen. I was cursing it when I was doing the piecing because with the looser weave of the linen the piecing could be quite challenging. And at times quilting it was frustrating because of the movement of the linen, but in the end I’m really pleased with it as it gives the quilt a beautiful feel…so soft!

Bears on skates are fun!

Bears on skates are fun!

You can almost see in the image above where I started my off-centre square quilting (stitched in the ditch around the square with the penguin in it and then kept moving out from this, quilting a square outside a square with one inch spacing).

The backing was also something I had in my stash and was perfect for this quilt. No pieced backing this time.

Dotty backing

Dotty backing

I love the scrappy binding and the wonky square border.

A scrappy binding

A scrappy binding

Wonky Square Border

Wonky Square Border

The colours in this quilt are just divine. So happy and cheerful for a young child. I can’t wait to give this to Baby S. I hope he enjoys snuggling in it for many years to come.

Details of the quilt:

Title: Circus Circus

Size: 55.5″ x 68″

Pattern: Based on Fussy Fairytales by Kate Conklin Designs

Fabric: Various prints from Kokka Fabrics plus a white linen for background contained in kit from my LQS  Cottage Quiltworks

Quilting: Off centre square quilting on domestic machine using Aurifil 40wt, colour 2021

Binding: Machine stitched with Aurifil 40wt, colour 2021

Backing: Green with Purple Dot print from Kokka Fabrics

Favourite Part: The fussy cut squares and the overall finish. Surprised myself with the quilting!

I love how bright and cheery this quilt is.

I love how bright and cheery this quilt is.

9 thoughts on “Circus Circus!

    • Oh thank you for your kind comment Georgi. I love how this quilt turned out as well. Just goes to show a quilt (for me at least) has to make sense for the intended recipient…it wasn’t right for my little girl, but it’s perfect for her little cousin!

  1. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival 2014: Circus Circus | onethousandlayers

Leave a Reply

