A little birdie dress.

Side 1

Side 1

It has been almost two years since I made a piece of clothing….I have a number of projects almost complete…but this one is the first that has been completed in an age! I always seem to be much better at completion of projects when the finished product is for someone else other than me!

It’s also a lot easier to finish something when it’s only an itty bitty Size 1. This little dress was a birthday present for one of my good friend’s daughter’s first birthday. Baby A is a third child, but the first girl so I just had to make her a little dress. With the weather starting to warm up her in Australia, a little summer dress was needed!

I had bought this pattern for a simple, reversible A-line dress earlier in the year (of course with the plan to make a dress for my little girl). This was the perfect excuse to try it out. I was also determined to use fabric from my stash…so I was pleasantly surprised to find two fabrics that complemented each other quite well.

Side with pockets

Side with pockets

The pattern itself is very easy to follow, and it’s so quick to make up. I made this up over a few days during my little one’s daytime naps…so all up it probably only took around 6 hours. I did leave off the applique design on one side of the dress though. I thought the birdy fabric just needed to shine on it’s own.

I love the shoulder ties on this dress. It means the dress will be easy to adjust for a reasonable fit even if the dress is a little big at the moment (baby A is such a petite little thing).

Shoulder ties

Shoulder ties

It’s also a great trans-seasonal dress. I can easily see this being worn over a long sleeve top/onesie with tights on cooler days. I tried to keep the fabric choices appropriate for this as well.

Pockets detail

Pocket detail

One thing I did learn whilst making this dress up was that my little sewing machine has become something of a thread-snob!! It’s been so used to having Aurifil running through it’s veins over the past two years while I have been making quilts, that when I put a polyester thread (one I have used many times before while dressmaking) the tension just went nuts!! So I guess I have to stick to the good stuff if I want my machine to continue to run well (I really don’t have a problem with that!)

I love this little dress, and I have actually picked out fabric from my stash to make my little girl a dress in this pattern as well. So watch this space for an update on that.

 

Leave a Reply

