My Husband the Giant

For my photography class homework this week one of our assignments was to photograph a subject in which distortion created by shooting at close range with a wide angle focal length contributed to the impact of the image.

Now, Hubby is not keen on playing “subject” most of the time, so I usually have to resort to a bit of subterfuge to get him in any shots, but this time I convinced him that all he needed to do was stand there and luckily he obliged. Hubby is quite a tall man so I thought this might be a perfect opportunity to have a bit of fun and see if I could emphasise this height advantage he has.

The picture below is what I ended up with. The shot was taken in the morning on our deck at the back of the house with my 16-85mm lens at it’s widest focal length, 1/50s at f18. The sun is coming in over Hubby’s right shoulder.

That’s one of the things I love about taking photographs….different perspectives can produce a different picture altogether.

“It is a narrow mind which cannot look at a subject from various points of view.”

― George Eliot, Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life

Leave a Reply

