New tricks for a not so old dog!

I’ve always wanted to learn how to quilt. I know, it sounds a bit old-fashioned, but I’ve always loved the labour of love that most quilts represent. So why not take the opportunity now while I have the time to dedicate to it!

A couple of weeks ago, after doing a bit of Google research, I found this great quilting fabric website for a shop not too far from home. I decided to take a little drive and check it out…see if they had maybe a kit or something to help me get started. As it turns out, it was even better than that. I met one of the co-owners of the store and she talked to me about the classes they run there, showed me the rooms and even the beginner sampler quilts that someone like me might want to try. Well, I was immediately hooked. I booked into the very next beginners class (which was being held the following week) and so far I haven’t looked back.

Two classes later these are my first two completed blocks. All hand quilted, which is ideally how I would like to complete the entire quilt (at least that’s the aim!). The photos are taken on my iPhone and are not my best work…but you get the idea.

Of course there is much more to come….but I will save those for another post.

Until then I leave you with a thought for the day…

Creativity is a great motivator because it makes people interested in what they are doing. Creativity gives hope that there can be a worthwhile idea. Creativity gives the possibility of some sort of achievement to everyone. Creativity makes life more fun and more interesting. Edward de Bono

Leave a Reply

