Getting up to date!

Another retrospective post. Just like yesterday’s post, today is all about getting you up to date with other quilts that have been finished in the past year or so.

I have a habit of finishing quilts for others but the one’s for myself tend to stay stagnant! Do you do that too, or are you a good finisher? I’m working on being much more focussed on finishing this year and not going….oh look, squirrel!!

One of my besties asked me to make a couple of quilts for the new bubs in her extended family for Christmas 2012. This was actually going to be the first time I was going to be paid for my work, so there was a little bit of pressure but generally I embraced the challenge. And although my friend didn’t know it at the time, I had recently found out I was FINALLY pregnant with Peanut so I was very excited to be making baby stuff!

I decided to use the same pattern for each quilt. As quilting was still so new to me I didn’t feel comfortable to make up my own design, so I decided on a simple pinwheel pattern for the quilt. A friend of mine in my quilting class had just finished a baby quilt using this pattern, so I decided to do the same. As the new additions to the family were a baby boy and a baby girl it meant I could make gender specific quilts. Funnily enough I found it really easy to choose fabrics for the boy quilt, but struggled for the girl….I thought that was a sign, I must be having a boy! Ha, so wrong!

Baby boy quilt

Baby boy quilt

I think you can see the pattern design better in the girl quilt.

Baby Girl Quilt

Baby Girl Quilt

I also love the backing fabrics for these…particularly the boy’s quilt.

Fun backing

Fun backing

A bit more subdued backing

A bit more subdued backing

I decided to hand quilt these as I was not feeling confident to machine quilt at this early stage. I love hand quilting so much. I kept a very simple design of concentric circles in the large squares, with just a small circle in the pinwheel blocks. You can see the quilting a bit better in the pictures below.

Of course, being gifts they had to be presented well. It was great to make something for someone else to gift. I hope the recipients love these quilts as much as I do.

A package full of bright fun

A package full of bright fun

Soft pink fabulousness

Soft pink fabulousness

Finished quilt size: 37″ x 48″

5 thoughts on “Getting up to date!

  1. wonderful baby quilts!! Im not good at machine quilting..maybe I should say I’m awful at machine quilting! So I hand quilt or knot(tie) the quilts.

Leave a Reply

