Shattered!

Over the past two years I have been very fortunate to meet, and become friends with, some very talented individuals. Each of them has their own unique style, and they all seem to be uber-quilty machines…churning out designs and finished projects with amazing speed that I am left gob-smacked by the talent. Most days I find myself just in awe of the work that is produced within the quilting community, a community I am so glad to be a part of.

All this talent does not mean there is any hint of superiority at all. Each and every person I have met has been so generous with their time if I’ve ever needed help. The more I have tried… new techniques, new projects started…┬áthe more my confidence has grown, and so one day last year I wanted to give back. I agreed to be a pattern tester for my lovely friend, Penny Poppleton (she’s one of those amazingly, talented individuals I was telling you about). If you know Penny/Jenn you know how much she loves a HST (half square triangle for the non-quilters…thanks for sticking around by the way). Up until this point I had never touched a HST (amazing though it seems), so I was a little nervous at first, but decided to just jump right in. Jenn had already shown us her amazing version of the Shattered Star pattern she had made, and I was in love with it, so I thought…why not?

Shattered Star

Shattered Star

Now I should point out that I agreed to do this only a few months after the birth of our first child! For some reason I thought I would have plenty of time to sew!! Oh dear! Really??

Long story short….the quilt is now finished! Just under a year to test a pattern….and I was only doing the small version…hmmm really not what I was aiming for! I’m just very thankful Jenn is such an amazing girl…and having had her second hub only a few weeks before Peanut arrived she was completely understanding! Thank you Jenn….and thank you for designing such a great pattern. Can’t wait to see it in print!!

Hand quilted

Hand quilted

Pieced back

Pieced back

The homely touch

The perfect binding

Can I hear a “Woohoo” for the finish? So happy to have another PHD completed, and it’s another quilt that I am so in love with. This quilt was on my Q3 FAL list as well!

Details of the quilt:

Finished size: 46″ x 46″

Pattern: Shattered Star by Penny Poppleton

Main fabrics: A selection of about 20 fabrics from my stash

Background: Kona Snow

Backing : Mostly Posy by Aneela Hoey plus pieced section from stash

Binding: Summersville Spring

Quilting: Hand quilted with Aurifil 12wt 2021

Gratuitous 'arty' shot

Gratuitous ‘arty’ shot…with the exception of the ugly clothesline handle!

10 thoughts on “Shattered!

  1. Wendy Hill says:

    You have excelled in every way possible Tash. It is just amasing. You must be so very pleased with the out come.

Leave a Reply

