Trying something new…

Apparently this will be my 50th post for this blog, and a milestone post requires something special. So today I am going to tell you all about my latest craft project which involved trying something new…well, sort of!

Hands up if you know what amigurumi is? OK…so many of my crafty followers will be very familiar with this term. For my non-crafty followers (thank you for sticking with me by the way), Amigurumi is (according to Wikipaedia) the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small stuffed animals and anthropomorphic creatures. Basically they are handmade soft toys and they are soooo cute!

Since I’ve rediscovered crochet I have been meaning to try my hand at making amigurumi but I wasn’t sure how I’d go with all the fiddly joining of body parts so I just haven’t gotten around to it. However, when a Facebook crochet group I am a member of suggested an Amigurumi Swap for the month of February I figured this was the sort of commitment I needed to make in order to finally try it out! The rules were simple: participants were each given a partner to swap an amigurumi with by the end of February. Each pair would swap with each other so it encouraged a conversation (via Facebook or email) between the pair. As the members are spread all around Australia and the world, it was a great chance to get to know some of the other group members a little bit better given we rarely get the chance to meet face to face.

I figured I best get in touch with my partner sooner rather than later. I knew that my time was limited to get this done what with the Peanut, and my other commitments for project finishes, and I had no idea how long it would take me to make an amigurumi. Fortunately my partner was quite quick to respond and gave me some nice inspiration so I made a start!

Thank goodness for Ravelry . Such a brilliant website for sourcing knitting and crochet patterns, and many of them are free! I just typed in my search topic (amigurumi turtle) and voila….hundreds of free patterns to choose from. In the end I chose this one.

Typically, even though I have a list of PHDs (Projects Half Done) to complete I absolutely needed to get started on this straight away!! I was so excited to try something new (there’s that squirrel in me again..darting around looking at shinier, more interesting objects).

I was surprised at how quickly everything came together though. After a couple of days of crocheting while Peanut slept I had a finished product!

My first Amigurumi

My first Amigurumi

I enjoyed making this one so much I felt he needed a partner, so I quickly made a second, girl turtle…

AmiTurtle_01_27_2014_011

Girls and their bows

Most girls don't like having pictures taken of their bottom but this one loves her heart!

Most girls don’t like having pictures taken of their bottom but this one loves her heart!

And then of course it was time for them to meet….

A bit nervous???

A bit nervous???

But soon they were to become close friends!

But soon they were to become close friends!

The only really difficult part was sewing the feet on the the belly…but as they are stuffed with a soft polyester filling it was relatively easy to manipulate the body parts as I sewed them on. The really fun part is working out how to give them personality…what embellishments will I add, what sort of eyes will I give them, do they need a mouth etc??

In line with my goal for 2014 to ‘use my stash’ 100% of the yarn used was from my stash. The only thing I had to purchase was one pair of eyes! Yay!! I’m also chuffed that I have completed this a month before the deadline…who knew!!!

I loved this little challenge so much…I think I may be an amigurumi convert, so expect to see more of these creations from time to time. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has created for their swap partners.

Now they are made I have to post them off to my swap partner. I hope they make her smile as much as they do me!

I’m happy to say they were received yesterday and I’ve had a lovely message of thanks from the recipient…yay, a happy customer :)

10 thoughts on “Trying something new…

  1. They are gorgeous! I especially love your little girl turtle!
    I have started an amigurumi but had to go out and buy some filler and got caught up on other projects! I must get back to finishing it. You have inspired me to do so!

Leave a Reply

