Crossing something off the list

I’ve had a bit of an unplanned blogging break. No real reason for it although sickness and feeling sorry for myself played a bit of a part (more on that at a later date). BUT, I’m back now with a vengeance! In fact, in the past hour I have 100% finished my very first quilt (which some of you may remember from here) and baked Banana Bread!

After going back over my old posts I realised the last thing I told you about was that I was hand quilting my sampler quilt. Since finishing that in record time (I was enjoying myself so much I think I had it completed before my next class a week later!), it was on to hand sewing the binding. Usually this is the final step in most quilts, but one of the things about our teacher’s sampler quilt is the knitted edging added to it, and this is what I have been working on for the past few weeks, and which today I finally finished.

Here are some pics to give you a bit of an idea on the final product. Enjoy!

All folded up and ready for use.

All folded up and ready for use.

A bit more detail

A bit more detail

Backing fabric and knitted edge

Backing fabric and knitted edge

The entire sampler quilt in all its glory!

The entire sampler quilt in all its glory!

Hand stitching the binding

Hand stitching the binding

3 thoughts on “Crossing something off the list

  1. Bronwyn Ugonotti says:

    You have done a beautiful job on your first quilt and it looks fantastic! – can’t wait to see you next one.

Leave a Reply

